Fri. Aug 7th, 2020


The News Behind The News

‘Our Party Must Not Disintegrate… We Will Deal With Members Who Drag Our Party To Court’-President Buhari At NEC Meeting!

4 min read

Sharing is caring!

By Chuka Callys Mbamaluh.

The much touted National Executive Committee ( NEC) meeting of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has ended with the Governor of Yobe State,Mai Mala Buni named Caretaker Committee (CTC) of the Party.

The meeting which was attended by President Muhammaudu Buhari,Vice President Yemi Osibanjo, Governors and stakeholders of the Party, dissolved the National Working Committee (NWC), resolved that an extraordinary Convention of the Party will hold in six months time.

The meeting also ratified the Party’s Governorship Primaries in Edo State- an indication political watchers said was meant to stave off a negative backlash arising from meeting up with the guildlines of the Independent National Electoral Commission,(INEC).

Others said it was a concession given not to rubbish the ousted National Chairman of the Party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole.

The Governors of Niger and Osun States, Abubakar Sani Bello,Gboyega Oyetola were also named as members of the Committee which will serve as the National Convention Planning Committee.

Each zone of the Party also has a zonal Chairman to pilot their affairs.

President Buhari in his remarks, advised members of the Party to withdraw all pending litigations against one another, and settle for internal conciliation, warning that the mutating disagreements could lead to self-destruction, with dire consequences.

He noted in the emergency meeting held on a virtual platform, that the gains of the Party could be reversed as conflicts overshadow the primary objective of service to the people, urging members to refocus on the larger picture and place more emphasis on uniting the Party.
His words:
“Fellow Party members, this is a very crucial moment in the life of our Party and it is with a deep sense of concern that I stand before you today to speak as the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who has been elected on the platform of our great Party – the All Progressives Congress.”

“The issues currently confronting our Party at this time are such that should worry every Party member. At the moment, our great Party is faced with internal wrangling; there are on-going litigations amongst some Party members and we cannot clearly ascertain the status of certain National Working Committee (NWC) members.”

The President expressed worry over the shifting loyalty within the Party and inconsistency in leadership, which had opened the governing Party to mockery.

“There are also other associated disputes as to the legitimacy or otherwise of holders of certain National Offices of the Party. The Party is also contending with Judicial claims and counter-claims, Orders and Counter-Orders and indeed,Judgments and Counter-Judgments that are predominantly at cross-purposes.”

“Confronted with these issues, it is obvious that the fortunes of the Party are currently in jeopardy, administration of our Party is becoming impossible and there is consequently an urgent need for intervention to immediately arrest further drifts and internal wrangling which may lead to total disintegration.”

“What we see clearly emerging, is that we are beginning to self-destruct. This, my dear Party members, is not just regrettable but utterly gut wrenching.”

“The meeting may adopt the developed resolution as contained in the agenda and pass resolutions including: approving the immediate discontinuation of all pending litigations involving the Party and its members; ratifying the primary election conducted in Edo State; dissolving the current National Working Committee, and appointing caretaker/Extra-ordinary Convention Planning committee for the party.”

“The directive had been issued before, unfortunately some members failed to heed the directive. Thus, at this time, it must be made a Resolution of the Party which must be effectively enforced with dire consequences for members who choose to ignore the directive.”

The President said in order to return to the “winning ways” the APC must maintain cohesion by closing its ranks.

“We must be alive to the time and the task that is before us. As we all know, we are immediately confronted with the upcoming gubernatorial elections in Edo and Ondo States. Therefore, this is the time to get our acts together.”

In his acceptance speech,the CTC Chairman, Governor Buni said : “As a former two-term National Secretary, I know the Party very well and it’s all about doing justice to every member of the Party. Without justice, there won’t be peace. If you don’t manage crisis, obviously crisis will manage you.”

The development is however, elliciting reactions.
Some respondents who fielded questions from Themeteornews,said the development would restore sanity in the Party.

“This is a very heartwarming development. The President has once again moved to save the Party from its internal enemies who want to destroy it because of their vaulting ambitions and greed.”

“The dissolution of organs and setting up a Caretaker Committee to run the affairs of the Party before convening an extraordinary National Convention is also a step in the right direction.The Party would have to seize this unique window to reposition and move forward“,a respondent said.

Another respondent however, tasked the President to remain proactive and always monitor the goings-on in the Party to avert a future occurrence.

“The President must not abandon the Party to opportunists whose stock in trade is to massage their selfish ends.The decisive steps he took today,has put the Party in a good stead. This is commendable.Moving forward, the Party should make good use of the events of today to its advantage and enhance its electoral value another respondent submitted.


  1. Governor Mai Mala Buni (Yobe) Chairman
  2. Isiaka Oyetola, Governor Osun SW
  3. Ken Nnamani SE
  4. Stella Okorete – Women Rep
  5. Governor Sani Bello NC
  6. Dr. James Lalu physically challenged
  7. Sen. Abubakar Yusuf- Senatè Rep
  8. Hon. Akinyemi Olaide – Reps
  9. David Lyon – SS
  10. Abba Ari -NW
  11. Prof. Tahir Mamman – NE
  12. Ismail Ahmed – Youth
  13. Sen. Akpan Udoedehe- Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *