Fri. Aug 7th, 2020


The News Behind The News

2023 Presidency:Igbo Groups Root For Amaechi;Onu, Umahi,Obi!

2 min read

Sharing is caring!

By Chuka Callys Mbamaluh.

A coalition of Igbo Groups, has penciled the Minister of Transportation,Rt.Hon. Chibuike Amaechi, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, Governor David Nweze Umahi, and Peter Obi for the Presidency in 2023.

The groups are of the settled conviction that any of them was eminently qualified to succeed President Muhammaudu Buhari.

The coalition comprising World Igbo Youth Congress, Southeast Women Professionals and Igbo Students Union, described the decision of Arewa Youths to form an alliance with Ohanaeze Ndigbo Youth Council Worldwide ahead of the 2023 general elections as a positive development.

The Coalition said the development was an affirmative action that both groups will work assiduously to present a consensus Presidential candidate in 2023.

It made its resolutions known after a meeting with the leadership of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Youth Council Worldwide in Abakaliki, capital of Ebonyi State on Thursday.

The resolution was made available to Journalists on Friday, by Comrade Obinna Achionye, Deputy President General Ohanaeze Ndigbo Youth Council Worldwide.

He said the signatories to the resolutions are, Mazi Alex Okemiri, President, World Igbo Youth Congress; Dr Mrs Helen Ogbonnaya, Leader, Southeast Women Professionals; and Comrade Chidi Ugwunjo, President, Igbo Students Union.

The Coalition further submitted that Igbo Presidency in 2023 is the most equitable and justifiable crusade that will make “Nigeria survive from disintegration and disaster that pose threats against her collective existence.”

It also commended the All Progressives Congress, (APC) Caretaker Committee(CTC), Chairman and Yobe State Governor, Mai Buni, for zoning the Party’s Chairmanship position to the North.

The group said that the move is an indication that the Presidency will be zoned to the South, “and we expect the PDP to also emulate the APC and zone the Presidency to the South.”

“With this development and after deliberating on the issues extensively in line with Igbo interests, we present Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers) Dr Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi), Governor David Nweze Umahi (Ebonyi) and Mr Peter Obi (Anambra) PDP and others,” to run in the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *